Day 9: Enoki Mushroom Pancakes

Standard

Today’s Exercise: 31 minutes on Wii Fit, 12,000 steps

This time last week I had to make a substitution of oyster mushrooms for enoki since there was no way in hell that Morrisons would ever do them. However, over the weekend we paid a visit to Bluewater (how I love it so) and went to the John Lewis foodhall and there they were large as life the white citadels that are enoki mushrooms.

It’s a little bit pathetic I know but finding them made me so excited that not only did I have to buy them but ALSO had to find a suitably delicious sounding recipe. Allegedly the best way to eat these are raw but I have never been the biggest fan of raw mushrooms so when I stumbled across a Korean cookery blog with a hot recipe for enoki mushrooms… well there was no contest really.

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 pack of enoki mushrooms, roots cut off and washed
  • 1/4 onion, very finely chopped
  • 4 stalks of chives, finely chopped
  • 1 small carrot, finely chopped
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp sesame oil

Add the flour and sesame oil onto the mushrooms then roll the mushrooms to thoroughly coat them. In a separate bowl mix the egg, salt, pepper and the remaining vegetables. Lay the mushrooms on the top of this mixture.

Pre heat a frying pan and then spritz with a few sprays of low-calorie oil. Use a tablespoon and a fork (or better yet chopsticks) to scoop the mix onto the frying pan. The point of the fork/chopsticks is to ensure the proper positioning of the mushrooms in the pancake mixture. Then cook the pancake on a medium heat for about 2-3 minutes per side, then serve.

Adapted from here

Verdict: They were okay, but there are a few things that I need to say about them. Firstly there was way too much onion in this which overpowered the taste of the mushrooms, in essence they could have been any species of mushroom so the use of enoki must be either traditional to the dish or for the sake of decadence. Also, because of the positioning of the enoki mushrooms, being laid on top of the mixture, there was a fair degree of difficulty in constructing the food on its way to the frying pan.

Overall, the dish is something I am not likely to make again because it seems a waste of enoki mushrooms. I tried some raw and they were absolutely delicious. Truly, the best mushrooms that I have ever tasted with a subtly sweet taste. I am likely to try and find these mushrooms again to use in salads but never again in pancakes. But that is why I started this blog, to try out new things. Like how I used chives in this recipe having never liked them before.

Calorie Count: 150 calories per person

Leave a comment